VA PTSD Criteria and How VA Rates PTSD!

VA PTSD Criteria and How VA Rates PTSD!

User Photo

6 months
Want to watch this again later?
Sign in to add this video to a playlist. Login
0 0
0:00 Introduction
0:55 What is PTSD? What is the history of PTSD?
1:37 When did PTSD become a diagnosable condition?
2:08 What is the DSM-V?
2:32 What is the PTSD criteria in the DSM-V?
2:52 PTSD Criterion A: Stressor
3:43 Non-military example of PTSD
4:52 Detailed discussion of PTSD Criterion B: Intrusive symptoms
6:24 PTSD Criterion C: Avoidance symptoms
6:47 In-depth discussion of PTSD Criterion D: Negative alterations in cognition and mood
9:27 PTSD Criterion E Alterations in arousal and reactivity
11:31 Criterion F: Duration of PTSD symptoms
11:45 Criterion G: Functional significance. Is your PTSD affecting your daily living?
12:10 Criterion H: Exclusion. Your PTSD symptoms cannot be attributed to substance use or self-medication.
14:10 Any PTSD exceptions when it comes to VA disability claims?
14:30 What are PTSD Specifications?
Dissociative specification vs. delayed specification
15:43 How does the VA rate PTSD?
VA PTSD Ratings 0%, 30%, 50%, 70%, or 100%
16:06 0% PTSD rating
16:11 30% PTSD rating
16:24 50% PTSD rating
16:32 70% PTSD rating
16:44 100% PTSD rating explained
17:28 PTSD C&P Exams tips | Tips for attending PTSD C&P Exam
19:15 What if I can't work because of my PTSD? Individual unemployability. TDIU. VA unemployability

For a FREE Case Evaluation go here:

Visit our website at
Like us on Facebook at
For questions please email us at
Natalia Jofre - COO
Melanie Williams – Attorney

Post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) is a recognized psychiatric disorder that a person may develop after exposure to a traumatic event. For many years, PTSD went widely undiagnosed or was not recognized as the serious condition it is. Thanks to advancements in research and the breakdown of social stigmas, we have more information about the mental health condition than ever before. We know that the majority of people who are exposed to traumatic events do not develop PTSD, and we know that veterans of the U.S. military are disproportionately affected by PTSD when compared to American civilians.

This blog post provides a brief breakdown of the required criteria for a diagnosis of PTSD, as well as PTSD specifications, as defined by the fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-V), published by the American Psychiatric Association. It’s important to note that this edition made changes to the previous DSM-IV)

What PTSD Criteria Does The DSM-5 Include?
The DSM-5 outlines specific criteria that must be present. These include:

A stressor
Intrusive symptoms
Avoidance symptoms
Negative alterations in cognition and mood
Alternations in arousal and reactivity
Duration of symptoms
Functional significance

What PTSD Specifications Does The DSM-5 Include?
It’s important to note that the DSM-5 also outlines two specifications for PTSD diagnoses. These specifications can apply to veterans who meet the eight PTSD criteria outlined above and have unique circumstances. These specifications may not apply to every PTSD diagnosis.

Read more on PTSD criteria here:


Up Next Autoplay